Race Ambassadors 2019

The Kentucky Derby Festival Marathon/miniMarathon Race Ambassador Team is built of runners and walkers who are apart of an amazing group who are proactive to pushing a healthy life style message to all local and regional groups and organizations. These ambassadors help KDF keep our runners and walkers informed, inspired and motivated during the months leading up to the race.

Over the past 5yrs our Race Ambassador Team has been essential in the development and continued growth of the Marathon and miniMarathon. We encourage our Race Ambassadors to stay involved in the race, as well as other Kentucky Events.

Congratulations to our 2019 Race Ambassador team!

2019 Race Ambassadors
Josh Allen
Sumata Bhimani
Michelle Bolton
Keith Clemons
Kristen Daugherty
Kim Diamond
Cassie Kolder
Kelly Lorch
Lauchlin MacGregor
Samantha Oerther
Daniel Perkins
Tara Thomas

Returning Ambassadors:

Sherry Boesch
Amy Barbour Shoaf
Linley Mueller – Junior Ambassador

2019 Executive Team
Deana Middleton
Chris Powell
Stephanie Sturgeon

PROGRAM DETAILS

The Details

Race Ambassadors from a subcommittee that will serve as recruiting liaison within the running and walking community of Kentucky and Southern Indiana.

• Race Ambassadors are selected for the program (for a one year term).

• Ambassador selection is based on an application explaining why they would be an important asset to the committee.

• Race Ambassadors report to a committee chair and be expected to attend Ambassador committee meetings and KDF Race events.

FORMER RACE AMBASSADORS: Please see the form below to express interest in volunteering with other Kentucky Derby Festival events.

Executive Team:

Deanna Middleton

Why do you become a Race Ambassador?

I wanted to be more involved in this great event and learn and work with great people! Being part of the Ambassador Team helps me meet more and exciting new friend!

If you could receive your Finisher’s Medal from anyone (living or dead)…who would it be?

Anyone from military or first responders! I make sure I thank all the police and military personnel on the course of race day. I feel safe and I will always go out of my way to let them know how much I appreciative of their service and keeping me safe.

What 3 songs are always on your playlists?

I am old school and need music for my mind and motivation! “Don’t Stop Believing” by Journey as my opening song ( I have to pace myself with the music) , “Brown Eye Girl” Jimmy Buffett and “Let’s Go” by Cars.

Chris Powell

Why did you become a Race Ambassador ?

I wanted to become a Race Ambassador for a few reasons. First, I love this city and the course is beautiful way to see it. Second: running has been very good to me: the health benefits, social aspect and the confidence gained by running has made me a better person and I believe everyone can, and should, have something like this in their life.

If you could receive your Finisher’s Medal from anyone (living or dead)…who would it be?

I would like to receive my Finisher medal from Dave Grohl. Not only does he ROCK, he is a family man and I respect the heck out of him.

What 3 songs are always on your playlists?

Lately, the 3 songs I like to run to are all from “Hamilton” recording cast. ” My Shot ” a song about seizing opportunities: ” Non-Stop ” a song about persistence/drive: and “What’d I Miss”, just because it is awesome. Honestly the entire soundtrack is incredible, and if you run in the rain, no one else will even notice you crying.

Stephanie Sturgeon

Why did you become a Race Ambassador?

I wanted to inspire people and be apart of the Kentucky Derby Festival so I can’t think of a way to accomplice these goals. The KDF Marathon and miniMarathon are such a huge event in town and I wanted to tell as many people about it as possible so we can share the best day ever!

If you could receive your Finisher’s Medal from anyone (living or dead)…who would it be?

I would say it would have to be from my grandfather. He passed away almost 10yrs ago and I know he would be so proud of me. He is the only one in my family that hasn’t seen me cross the finish line.

What 3 songs are always on your playlists?

I listen to podcast, mostly murder mysteries. My brain completely forgets that I am running because I am to focused on the details of the case! Pro Tip: Don’t listen to them when on a trail.

Joshua Allen

I’m a tech guy with a running passion powered by motivating my son and others to challenge themselves to go future then they once thought possible. I’m a certified RRCA Coach and Leader of Run the Ville. I would spend all of my non-running time gaming if I could.

I’ve participated in the miniMarathon multiple times since 2015. For me, being a Race Ambassador is an awesome opportunity to reach and inspire other to experience the Derby Festival races, and better themselves threw running.

Sumata Bhirmani

I’m 26yr old aspiring dermatologist who’s balancing her ice cream obsession with a passion for running and fitness. At an early age, my father instilled the expectations of striving for excellence. I am on a mission to keep challenging myself to find my extraordinary and support others to do the same.

I’ve run the Derby miniMarathon four times since 2013, and the Marathon 2015. When I started running 5yrs ago, I was building my endurance to run 3 miles with no other intensions but to lose weight. Since then running has become a passion and annual tradition with my dad, my uncle and myself. We’ve ran several races in Louisville since 2015, including the Kentucky Derby Festival.

Michelle Bolton

I’m a gluten free runner from California. I love being a mom, wife and coffee lover. I’m excited to represent this race that has been an important part of my life.

When I decided to start running, I could barely run to the mailbox, but wanted to prove to myself I could run a half marathon. I’ve completed 3 and half Marathons now, including the Kentucky Derby Festival miniMarathon in 2017 and then the Marathon in 2018. I want to share my love for running with others to encourage them to take a chance.

Kristen Daughtery

I’m a Louisville native with a passion for running, Louisville sports and Italian food and raising money for cancer patients and research. Running has taught me more about myself then anything else. It’s taught me to be determined, passionate, and resilient in all aspects of my life. I want others to experience that too.

2018 was my first year running in the Kentucky Derby miniMarathon and the course is my favorite.

 Kim Diamond

I’m a Kentucky native. I wasn’t born in Louisville, but has spent the last 16yrs of my life here. My husband and I have a 14yr old daughter , as well as an adult children. I’ve always been active in some capacity. I don’t love running. BUT I LOVE training cycles and earning medals.

I ran my first KDF miniMarathon in  2004, a few months after my daughter was born, I ran again in 2017 and 2018 and still got goose bumps when crossing the finish line.

Linley Mueller Jr Ambassador

I ran my first KDF miniMarathon, also my first half marathon, this year at the age of 12. It was fun training with the Norton’s Training Program. I also play violin and soccer. My goal one day is to be a veterinarian.

Sherry Boesch

I’m excited to be training for my second KDF Marathon. You can often find me running in Cherokee Park or adventuring out with my husband and dog. I hope to meet many of you at the Norton’s Sport Health Training Program.

Cassie Kolder

I’ve ran my first marathon 7yrs ago and I’m now addicted with collection race medals! I have thirteen medals right now and are already signed up to get 4 more this year. One of my goals in life is to run one half marathon every year.

I’ve run the KDF miniMarathon three times and Marathon once, along with many others. I want to help motivate and inspire others to achieve their running goals.

Kelly Lorch   

I’m married with two children. My oldest is in college and youngest is in the 7th grade. I’m a board member and community volunteer for Develop New Albany. I’m pretty new to running and currently training for my next marathon.

Running saved my life. I love the change to engage other people and make them believers of running too, and how beneficial it is for your health.

Lauchlin MacGregor

I’m a 44yr old runner from Northern Cincinnati who started running late in life at 37. Since then, I’ve ran 15 marathons and multiple other distances (250 Ks). This year, I started a running group called Cin-City Run.

I’ve run the Kentucky Derby Festival Marathon twice and love it! The trip through downtown and around Churchill Downs are worth it alone, but the addition of parks and hills make it challenging race every time.

Daniel Perkins

I’m 25 yrs old and from Louisville. I run everything from dry roads in Cherokee to muddy trails in the ParkLands. If you run with me it will probley turn into a race.

I love running and the Louisville running scene. I’ve run both the Kentucky Derby Festival miniMarathon and Marathon, as well as other races around the city. My goal as an ambassador is to promote the sport to as many Louisvillians, Kentuckians and so many other.

Tara Thomas

I’m 35urs old, a military wife and mother of two toddlers. I have been running for 13yrs now, including the KDF mini for many years. I do most of my running by pushing a double wide stroller. The example I set for my kids are important.

I ran my first Derby mini in 2006 and have been hooked ever since. I want to share my enthusiasm with others and show them then how I went from 13.1 or 26.2 miles can be accomplished without a doubt.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment